Review of MS


Top news in Healthmagazine | covid 19 | Skin Health | Treatment | Disease | Natural Beauty


Review of MS

Review of MS

Review of MS

Since 1996, MS has been divided into four categories:

Relapsing-remitting MS (RRMS) progressive-relapsing (PRMS) progressive-relapsing MS primary-progressive MS (PPMS) secondary-progressive MS (SPMS)

These four categories are now widely used by the medical community and are a common language for the diagnosis and treatment of MS.  Categories are based on how far the disease has progressed in each patient.

1) Recurrence and Recovery (RRMS)

The most common type of MS, which is the main feature of this type of MS, is not predicted to have acute attacks (recurrence).  These attacks are very obvious.  Following these attacks, complete or partial recovery of the patient occurs with no progression of the disease.  This process can take months or years.

After the attack, the symptoms either go away or the side effects remain.  This disease begins in 85 to 90% of patients.  If the symptoms go away completely after each attack, MS is mild.

If you have this type of MS you may experience the following:

Severe recurrence or attack that clearly leads to severe involvement of your brain function. Periods of partial or complete recovery after relapse and between attacks (when the disease stops.) Mild to severe symptoms as well as recurrence and improvement.  Which lasts for days or months.

Check out the Canadian Healthcare News on the : A simple therapy to boost resilience

If these people do not receive treatment and rehabilitation, on average, half of them will become secondary progressives after 10 years!

2) Recurrent-Progressive (PRMS)

In recurrent-progressive MS, the patient regresses from the beginning, but disease progression occurs with acute (or no recovery) recurrences.  About 5% of MS patients are recurrent-progressive.

3) Early Progressive (PPMS)

The condition of patients with early progressive MS worsens almost continuously.  Sometimes the condition of these patients may remain stable for a short time or the patient may temporarily improve slightly.

But in general the course of the disease is progressive.  About 9% of patients are primary progressive.  This type usually starts around the age of 40.

4) Secondary drive (SPMS)

Sixty-five percent of patients with recurrent MS recover after some time.  During this period, multiple sclerosis is a recurrence and improvement, but after a while, it progresses.  It takes an average of 19 years for this to happen. Disease progression occurs at variable rates.  Overall, 31% of patients experience advanced progressive period (SPMS).

Check out the beauty tips on the Beauty Mag.

Comment here